Slow Runner

Slow Runner

I don’t know why, but I always kind of freeze up whenever someone asks me, “So, what kind of music do you listen to?”

It was worse when I was in high school and only listened to classical music, Broadway musicals, the Beatles 1 CD, and Jason Mraz. But even these days, I’m never sure what to say.

It’s a little strange because I’m the sort of person who likes to know what I like. If you talk to me about books, movies, or TV shows, you’ll probably regret it, because I’ll want to know exactly what you like and why you like it, and I’ll want to tell you all about the things I like and why you should like them too.

I think this is partly because I’ve never identified myself as a music geek. I never feel like I know enough about music to really talk about it. I also tend to like individual songs–often for purely emotional reasons–rather than albums, artists, or genres. Which, for some reason, makes me feel kind of unhip. Well, that, and the fact that I discover most of the music I like from Starbucks or TV commercials.

But I digress. The point of this post was supposed to be about how much I love the band Slow Runner. I know I just said I don’t tend to blanket-love artists, but that’s why this is significant. I LOVE Slow Runner. I don’t think I’ve felt such an affinity for a band since I discovered The Magnetic Fields. They have this sort of clever, bizarre blend of emo-ness and dry humor, plus gently catchy tunes. It’s irrational, but I just feel like they get me. All week I’ve been listening to them on repeat, and they haven’t gotten old yet.

At this point, those of you in the know may be feeling the need to break some bad news to me. It’s okay, I know. Sadly, Slow Runner no longer exists. They broke up earlier this year. (I don’t know why I always start obsessing over something only once it’s done. See also: Bunheads.)

Still, that’s no reason not to share my favorite Slow Runner songs!

My absolute favorite is “Love and Doubt,” which I first heard–you guessed it–in a Starbucks. Shazam, however, failed to recognize it, which is just unacceptable.

 

I also really like “The Usual Chords” just because 1) it is so true that sad songs often use the exact same chords, and 2) it describes exactly how I react to such songs.

 

Finally, I just think “Rainyface” is a lovely, melancholy, hopeful, and totally goofy at the same time. Best line: “There are ladies making bagels for you, Rainyface.”

 

Images: Slow Runner

Leave a Reply

