Experimenting With a Lightbox

I used to think that shipping was the hardest thing about running an Etsy shop, but now I’ve changed my mind. It’s photography.

With shipping, you figure it out once and you’re done. With photography, it’s a repeated learning process. Maybe it’s because I’m still very much an amateur, but I’ve found it’s difficult to take photos in exactly the same lighting (and at exactly the same angle) every time, which means that the editing process ends up being quite varied. The good thing is that this forces me to learn a lot of Photoshop functions. The bad thing is it takes me forever to get any new photo to match the look and feel of my existing photos.

As an attempt to make things a little easier for myself, I decided to try experimenting with a lightbox. I thought that maybe having a slightly more controlled environment would help with producing more consistent shots. Also, I figured that it might eventually be better to use a background that, unlike my current hardwood floor, isn’t tied to where I’m living–since I could very well move in the future.

Below are some test shots (white background) compared to my existing photos (wood background) of some Halloween cards:

Euclid Street Shop Ghost Test Photo

Euclid Street Shop Ghost Photo

Euclid Street Shop Witch Test Photo

Euclid Street Shop Witch Card

Euclid Street Shop Zombie Card Test

Euclid Street Shop Zombie Card

Euclid Street Shop Costume Card Test

Euclid Street Shop Costume Halloween Card

It might be awhile before I’m able to perfect my Photoshop skills for these lightbox photos, so I’ll probably continue to use the wood background for the time being. But what do you think of the white background? There’s a rumor on Etsy that products photographed on white tend to sell better, which makes sense…except my products are already white. I do like that airy feeling, though, so I don’t know. Let me know if you have any thoughts or tips!

7 comments

  1. I like the wood contrast with the white card; I think some contrast of color works depending on the product. A white background does look professional, clean and neat but you don’t want your cards to blend/fade into the background…you want them to stand out. I would definitely suggest some type of color surface in the background :). Have a lovely day!

    1. Thanks for the input, and you have a good point. Right now I’m thinking maybe a happy compromise between white vs. color might be a neutral non-white fabric with an interesting texture. Of course, I haven’t found this ideal fabric yet haha…

  2. I actually really like the look of the white background, even though the cards are white already.. And if you want to have more contrast I guess you could try having a coloured envelope behind it, like in the last picture?

Leave a Reply

