10 Blogs I Love Right Now

I love blogs. I love that a blog is a little space on the internet that someone can carve out for herself. I love that blogs can become communities where like-minded individuals can connect.

I also like that what blogs you read can say a lot about who you are. Not the ones you say you read, or the ones you’ve been meaning to read, but the ones that you actually read.

At first, I was a little anxious about writing this post. What would I learn about myself once I took an honest look at what I was reading every day? Would it be totally embarrassing? Would I be reluctant to share?

As it turns out, I think my list of favorite blogs paints a pretty accurate picture of who I am, guilty pleasures and all. And you know what? I don’t mind it. So, here they are: ten blogs that I love right now.

Jess Lively

Jess LivelyI’m going to admit that I kind of idolize Jess Lively. She’s a former jewelry designer/entrepreneur who now helps people, in her words, “design lives and businesses with intention.” I think part of me is always a little wary of blogs that are 1) too pretty and/or 2) too life coach-y, which to be frank, you might suspect is true of Jess’ blog. But I think you’d be wrong. Yes, Jess is always peppy and positive, but she’s also surprisingly down-to-earth and honest about her own life. Which I admire a lot.

Penelope Trunk

Penelope_TrunkI was a little hesitant to include Penelope Trunk here because I definitely do not agree with everything she says. But then this list would be incomplete, because I absolutely do read her blog. She essentially writes about her personal life under the guise of providing career advice, but it’s just so fascinating and blunt and addictive that I can’t look away. She’s also unafraid to express unpopular opinions, which I respect even when I am horrified.

The Terrier and Lobster

Terrier and LobsterI CANNOT gush enough about The Terrier and Lobster. It’s like, I’ll be on Bloglovin, scrolling through my feed, and I’ll see some image that is utterly charming and totally up my alley, and 90 percent of the time it will have been posted by The Terrier and Lobster. I also love how utterly lacking in self-promotion it is.  There’s very little actual information about the author, which is refreshing, but also sad because I dearly would like to be his/her friend.

Dustjacket Attic

Dustjacket AtticI basically love Dustjacket Attic for the same reason that I love The Terrier and Lobster: stunning images and exceptionally good taste that never fails to delight me.

Shorpy Historical Photo Archive

shorpyNamed after Shorpy Higginbotham (the kid in these Lewis Hine photographs), this blog is a collection of vintage photos, often of ordinary people. I love this so much. I never get tired of wondering whatever happened to people in old pictures–what were they like? What was their world like? The fact that many of their identities and stories have been lost to time both intrigues and haunts me.

Asian Models Blog

Asian ModelsEven though I’m not really into fashion, I do like fashion editorials because they’re often so visually stunning. And as an Asian American, I like the Asian Models Blog because it collects editorials featuring people who “look like me” (even if I don’t actually look anything like them). I love this mostly because I feel pretty strongly about diversity in media representations, but also because sometimes I just need a good photo to take to the hair stylist.

Priceonomics Blog

emerson-string-quartet-credit-richard-termine-new-york-times-redux-eyevineThis enlightening, well-researched blog tackles all sorts of questions that you may have always wondered about but are too lazy to go research yourself. Like, what’s the science behind snobbery? Or why are diamonds so expensive? I can always rely on the Priceonomics Blog for a thought-provoking read. 

Vulture

VultureEven though this isn’t a particularly gush-worthy blog, I’m including Vulture because I read it so much. You see, I have this useless obsession with keeping on top of entertainment news…I have to feed it somehow!

Mark Watches

Battlestar-galactica-wI discovered Mark when I was watching Battlestar Galactica (which I’ve decided is the most beautiful show in the universe). I enjoy reading episode recaps for TV shows that I’m obsessed with, but I like my recaps to have a delicate balance of intellectual analysis and emotional flailing–not always an easy combination to find. Well, Mark nails it. Mark watches TV in exactly the same way that I do (e.g., Mark about BSG: “You are making me feel things about a television show that I barely feel for some members of my own family.”). Except that he is much more diligent about writing all his feelings down, and I love him for it.

Visual News

Visual NewsI posted these national flags from the Visual News a few weeks ago, which I think shows exactly why this blog is awesome.  It’s currently my go-to source for amazing visual inspiration.

And that’s my list! Let me know if you have any other suggestions. I’m always looking for a new blog to love.

Images: Jess Lively // Penelope Trunk // The Terrier and Lobster // Dustjacket Attic // Shorpy // Asian Models // Priceonomics // Vulture // Mark Watches // Visual News

6 comments

    1. Jess, I’m so excited that you stopped by! Your blog was one of the things that really inspired me to start my own (however small right now) creative business, and it definitely continues to inspire. Thanks for your comment!

Leave a Reply

