The Shop is Finally Open!

Blog_Sad_08.19.13

Nine months ago, I had a career epiphany. It was probably the fourth or fifth epiphany I’d had in the last year and a half, but this time was different. This time was for real.

I was still working as a paralegal at the time, but I was reading a lot of design and lifestyle blogs for no particular reason. Just to procrastinate and avoid thinking about what to do with my life, since I was pretty sure by then that I didn’t want to go to law school.

So there I was, reading these blogs, feeling both admiration and envy for all these super creative bloggers with their Etsy shops and well-designed web layouts. Sigh, I thought, why can’t I do something creative with my life?

And then, there it was. Why can’t I?

I got really excited and started researching how to become a graphic designer. Meanwhile, I decided I would open a greeting card business on Etsy. I pulled out my sketchbook and started doodling ideas. I even bought a package of blank cardstock and got ready to test print. I had so much momentum! I thought my existential crisis was over.

But it wasn’t.

A month or so later, I had put the whole enterprise on indefinite hiatus. The reasons were mundane. Work interfered, self-doubt interfered, and so did my lack of a scanner. Reluctantly, I had to accept that an epiphany doesn’t necessarily change your life. That’s the first thing I learned from all of this.

But I also learned something else. That “empty” epiphany might keep hanging around in your subconsciousness. One day, if the time is right, it just might tap you on the shoulder again. Maybe you’ll turn around and realize there might have been something in it after all. And maybe, this time, you’ll be brave enough to pursue it.

So that’s how, nine months later, I have finally opened the Euclid Street Shop.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

